A Zilla Parishad is constituted under section 140 of the West Bengal   Panchayat Act, 1973. South 24 Parganas Zilla Parishad consists of :

               (1)  73 members elected directly from respective constituencies of 29 Blocks;

               (2)  Sabhapatis of 29 Panchayat Samitis within the District ex officio

               (3)  6 MPs and 21 MLAs ex officio.

 Zilla Parishad is at the apex of 3-tier Panchayati raaj. Thus it acts as the friend, philosopher and guide of 29  Panchayat Samitis and 312 Gram Panchayats in the District.

 South 24 Parganas is not only the biggest district of the state but also a unique combination of highly urban areas adjoining the Kolkata metropolitan city, semi-urban compositions, vast rural fields also spread over in 13 Sundarban Blocks ------ with striking diversities in religious, social and economic background, and therefore, posing a great challenge for the Zilla Parishad towards human and infra-structural development, with some degree of uniformity and consideration of backwardness and felt need, it has to strive for.

 This website has been developed to communicate information on various responsibilities to be discharged and various functions to be undertaken or achieved from time to time by the Zilla Parishad. People in general and Panchayat functionaries and members in particular may also obtain status report in respect of the major activities of Zilla Parishad and its physical and financial performance and may have a close watch over its affairs.









GP & PS   >> Click Here